Background to my interest in teaching children with autism

Teaching Children with Autism: Dealing with Anxiety, continued

In my March 4th and 5th, 2014 postings, I discussed neurofeedback and audio-visual entrainment (AVE) for attentional problems.  Traditionally, these technologies have sought to enhance SMR/beta brainwave activity (e.g., a frequency of about 13 cycles per second) and decrease theta activity (about 7-8 cps).  I know that AVE works, because I used it in one of my previous incarnations – I used to have a psychotherapy and biofeedback practice, before becoming interested in teaching children with autism – using equipment manufactured by Dave Siever’s company, Mind Alive.

Recently, the Othmer’s have introduced infra-low frequency training (which is considerably more complicated than I am prepared to tackle without specific training).  Interestingly, however, the Bilateral Meditation Music with Brainwave Entrainment for iPad app includes frequencies as low as 0.3 Hertz, i.e., cycles per second (with an inexpensive in-app purchase), and I intend to experiment with it and the other meditation/entrainment apps that I have been telling you about – on myself, that is.  I will let you know what I think about them after I have accumulated some personal experience with them.

You should know that the apps which I have been discussing – the poor man’s audio entrainment – are no substitute for either neurofeedback or audiovisual entrainment in the hands of a trained professional, both of which cost more than a few bucks.  So, something to experiment with, but (in my opinion) not necessarily the best choice for meaningful change.

Leave a Reply

