Background to my interest in teaching children with autism

More on Psychotherapy

In a posting on 25 November 2013, I mentioned Nahoma Asha Clinton, and her exploration of the multiple possible sources of distress in the lives of her clients, as detailed in her Matrix Work Manual, Level 1 Working Manual (1999).  She drew on Thought Field Therapy (TFT) and Be Set Free Fast (BSFF) for treatments but, in exploring the causes of the client’s distress, she would muscle test for some 72 core traumatic patterns and 1500 or so bipolar concepts such as “I want to die/I want to live,” “No one loves me/Some people love me,: “I am bad/I am good,” “I am despicable/I have admirable qualities,” etc., etc. 

Recently, there has been a (supposedly) new therapy approach known as Schema Therapy.  According to its website (www.schematherapy.com): “Schema therapy is an innovative psychotherapy developed by Dr. Jeffrey Young for personality disorders, chronic depression, and other difficult individual and couples problems.  Schema therapy integrates elements of cognitive therapy, behavior therapy, object relations, and gestalt therapy into one unified, systematic approach to treatment.”  Of particular interest to me is their focus on (and development of questionnaires to assess) eighteen self-defeating, core themes or patterns (schemas) that people keep repeating throughout our lives.  These eighteen early schemas relate to the basic emotional needs of a child. “When these needs are not met in childhood, schemas develop that lead to unhealthy life patterns.”  

My personal interest in these polarities stems from my exposure to Craig’s Emotional Freedom Technique (EFT, a quick way of alleviating/eliminating negative emotions) and, particularly, Slavinski’s Primordial Energy Activation and Transcendence (PEAT, which is about neutralizing the difference between primordial polarities – as in getting beyond Aristotelian logic, in which everything is a member of a class or not, e.g., a person or not a person, a chair or not a chair, etc.) – which these schemas appear to be. 

Leave a Reply

