Background to my interest in teaching children with autism

PSYCHOTHERAPY BEYOND THE FRINGE, continued
Chapter 16
So You Thought You’d Like To Be A Psychologist, Eh?
Introduction — Bad Job’s Bad Job
Of course, the practice of psychology is one of the best jobs one could have. The infinite variety of people precludes boredom. The opportunity to get to know people rather well, as well as the fact that the task by its nature demands that no personal judgements be made, ensures that the psychologist, at least eventually, always likes everybody he deals with. There is no responsibility in the job, since the psychologist always has to deflect responsibility back to the other person – except for what he, himself, does, and that is pretty clearly prescribed for most procedures. He doesn’t even have to take much responsibility for what he says, since nobody believes anything a psychologist says. And he can be as kooky as he wants because everyone expects it of him anyway. So what could possibly make the job less than ideal? [On the other hand, I tend to think of myself as having been curse with psychology. Here I am in my 80’s and still working my buns off. I could have stayed with being a teacher and retired with a good pension at least forty years ago; or I could have gone into business and made a fortune. No, I had to go into psychology! Yuck. Of course, I never was all that good at golf, so I suppose I might as well keep working. RR]

Leave a Reply

