Psychotherapy Off the Wall

PSYCHOTHERAPY OFF THE WALL, continued
RE-INTRODUCTION
Funny Things Funny People Do
Whenever I meet someone, it seems only proper to introduce myself before I expect the other person to divulge much about him or her self. As you read and react in your own special way to each of the stories about which I plan to gossip, it seems likely that you will reveal a good deal about yourself – to yourself. So it seems only right that I should begin by telling you something about myself and about the rather improbable protagonist in this set of mystery stories. Bear with me while I do that.
I am the protagonist’s spouse. Since the protagonist’s name is Felicity, you might expect me to be her husband. Actually, I’m his wife. What makes it more confusing is that we both have the same name. That’s right, I came equipped with the same given names as he did. Now that is an unlikely coincidence. I keep wondering what the probabilities are that two people, each with three given names which are the same, would meet and marry. Can you imagine how strange it feels to greet your spouse with: ‘Felicitations, Felicity’, only to hear the echo: ‘Felicitations, Felicity’? Well, that’s what it’s like at our house.
If you would like to hear a bit more about Felicity’s history and what it’s like at our house, you might want to peak at the Introduction to the earlier volume, Psychotherapy Beyond the Fringe. Oh, you didn’t know there was another volume. Well there is. That first volume in this series was concerned with some of the attempts Felicity made to treat people for the usual kinds of ‘mental’ or ’emotional’ conditions for which people usually seek psychotherapy. This, second, volume is about Felicity’s attempts to use the methods of psychotherapy to treat criminals and addicts. I know, it makes no sense to try to use psychotherapy with addicts and criminals. After all, criminal conduct is due to genetic and economic factors and it has nothing whatever to do with the things with which psychotherapy is concerned. And addictions have to do with genetic factors and the chemical composition of the body, and again have nothing to do with psychotherapy. Anyway that’s what I said. But Felicity just shrugged his shoulders and carried on talking about psychotherapy with criminals and addicts just as though there was nothing about which to object. So, in telling these stories, I have called them Psychotherapy Off the Wall.
Incidently, as if these stories weren’t silly enough, he also told me a bunch of stories about things that clearly can have nothing at all to do with psychotherapy. These concerned people with physical diseases and irreversible brain damage. So I’ve entitled them, Psychotherapy Out of Bounds. They’ve got to be just plain nuts.

Leave a Reply

