Sex and Sexuality

Sex and Sexuality

More and more, I think that Freud was right when he highlighted the importance of sex in neurosis, and most of us are neurotic to some extent – not that it isn’t important for non-neurotics as well. I have been watching the Olympics and noticing, in particular, the bikinis that the women are wearing – legitimately, of course. I love bikinis, particularly on athletic female bodies!

Except for swimming, the men are dressed more moderately. Don’t get me wrong, I approve of that, too. What interests me about dress codes is the extent to which women are more open about displaying their bodies. It is as if they are trying to be attractive – trying to attract the male. In a word, a potential mate capable of bearing children (which, for the most part, is what women’s fashion is all about). And I assume that men’s fashions are, for the most part, about trying to attract the female.

Why the different approaches. I think that it may be a holdover from when women were not so emancipated, and that women’s earning power will eventually change that. As women have less financial need, I would expect them to look for something more than successful-businessman in their potential mates. Then the question arises, how might males portray those qualities that women might value, and what might those values be? And I am sure that sexual satisfaction will be among them.

Leave a Reply

