SEA OF AUTISM

Teaching Children with Autism

SEA OF AUTISM

The sun kisses your neck

Our shadows grow tall,

As we walk the beach silently

You and I

My son, my little love

 

The waves crash against the shore

Will it be like this forever more?

Autism crushes against your soul

Taking its toll

Turbulent surf,

Stormy days,

You communicate in different ways

 

Tides change

Raging squalls arise without warning

Each wave, a new challenge

Each night, the same longing

 

The seas are in turmoil

We’re caught in its curl

I feel as if I’ll drown

In this

Sea of Autism

I’m afraid, I’m confused

Yet you cling to me

As if you can see

The unknown strength rising in me

 

I won’t give in

I fight, I struggle

I pray for calm waters

In this

Sea of Autism

 

Adrift on the stormy sea

I learn to survive

Eventually,

I come up for air

Stop living in despair

Ride the wave

Balance the board

Adjust, to endure the strain

I learn to cut an edge and surf safely

Through this

Sea of Autism

 

The peace of the calm is relished

Lessons of the sea embellished in my heart

As I learn to love and embrace this

Sea of Autism

 

We glide onto the shore

Where we

Walk the beach silently

You and I

My son, my little love

 

Dale Wood, proud to be

Trevor’s Mother

Leave a Reply

