Depression

Depression

I recently ran across a paper titled, The Heterogeneous Nature of Depression. It reminded me of one of the short questionnaires that Doug Quirk produced to help elucidate factors to be addressed in therapy. It is reproduced below. By the way, it has taken me days to find this file, which is why there haven’t been any postings lately.

Dynamic Affect Questionnaire (DAQ III)

Instructions

Please circle the number for each question which best describes to you. The numbers mean:

0 means “no,” “never,” “not at all,” “wrong,” “not me,” etc.

1 means “a little,” sometimes,” “somewhat,” rarely,” etc.

2 means “an average amount,” “about the same as others,” etc.

3 means “usually,” “often,” “frequently,” I guess so,” etc.

4 means “yes,” “right on,” “true,” “that’s me,” etc.

If my mood lifts, it’s only for a few hours.   0  1  2  3  4
Life seems pretty flat and boring to me.   0  1  2  3  4
I’m not really sure that I know what joy feels like.   0  1  2  3  4
I often wonder how others can seem so happy.   0  1  2  3  4
My life is pretty flat, with few ups and downs.   0  1  2  3  4
I think I lead a pretty joyless existence.   0  1  2  3  4
There is very little that I look forward to with hope.   0  1  2  3  4
I seem to spend my time waiting for things to happen.   0  1  2  3  4
I don’t really know how to have fun or be happy.   0  1  2  3  4
  ANHED =
 
I can’t get over feeling sad about the past.   0  1  2  3  4
Someday, something nice may happen. But when?   0  1  2  3  4
I feel unhappy most of the time.   0  1  2  3  4
I am sure I get an unfair and raw deal from life.   0  1  2  3  4
Things that happened are all rotten or unpleasant.   0  1  2  3  4
I can barely remember any good things happening in life.   0  1  2  3  4
I need something to help me feel better.   0  1  2  3  4
I feel depressed most of the time.   0  1  2  3  4
I need someone to talk to you about my unhappiness.   0  1  2  3  4
  DTSTH =
   
It doesn’t matter how much I try, nothing seems to work.   0  1  2  3  4
I found that nothing is as good as it ought to be.   0  1  2  3  4
There doesn’t seem to be much point in making an effort.   0  1  2  3  4
If I have one good day, the next six are sure to be bad.   0  1  2  3  4
Life is just one disappointment after another.   0  1  2  3  4
People keep draining all of the energy out of me.   0  1  2  3  4
No matter what I do I can’t seem to please anyone.   0  1  2  3  4
Life is hopeless. Nothing seems to work out right.   0  1  2  3  4
There is so much to do, there is no point even trying.   0  1  2  3  4
  TORPR =
   
I get along okay except when pressures overwhelm me.   0  1  2  3  4
I just can’t take much extra stress.   0  1  2  3  4
I find that I can’t cope well when I get frustrated.   0  1  2  3  4
Worrying tends to wear me down   0  1  2  3  4
My resistance must be very low, since setbacks do me in.   0  1  2  3  4
I just shrivel up whenever I’m criticized.   0  1  2  3  4
Sometimes there are just too many demands placed on me.   0  1  2  3  4
Stress gets me down.   0  1  2  3  4
I get depressed when things pile up on me.   0  1  2  3  4
  REACT =

Leave a Reply

