Mental Health Awareness

Mental Health Awareness

I have had a bit of scalp surgery to remove a potentially troublesome spot, and it appears that all is well. The staples came out yesterday. Hurray!

It has captured my attention, however, and I missed commenting on the recent mental health awareness activity. Better late than never? In any event, I want to share a piece from one of my favorite poetry books, The Cliff’s Edge: Songs of a Psychotic by Eithne Tabor.

               Panic

And is there anyone at all?

And is

There anyone at all?

I am knocking at the oaken door . . .

And will it open

Never now no more?

I am calling, calling to you –

Don’t you hear?

And is there anyone

Near?

And does this empty silence have to be?

And is there no-one there at all

To answer me?

 

I do not know the road –

I fear to fall.

And is there anyone

At all?

Leave a Reply

