Background to my interest in teaching children with autism

Teaching Children with Autism: Neuroliminal Programming for the Symptoms of ADHD

Recently, Dr. Phil Bate – http://drbate.com/ – developed and produced what he calls a neuroliminal programming CD for autism.  I have purchased this new development, but have not tried to use it – I am, after all, confining my current efforts to supervising ABA-based teaching programs for children with autism.  Nor do I know whether there is any solid research evidence to support its use.  However, it is considerably cheaper than AVE, which itself is considerably cheaper than neurofeedback.   So I think that it is at least worth mentioning.  The situation is a bit like the energy therapies, and like the use of educational apps on your child’s iPad – if it is cheap enough and convenient enough, perhaps it is worth trying, even prior to any supportive peer reviewed research, although not to the exclusion of proven treatments such as ABA – just as a supplement to them.

Here is what Dr. Bate’s website says about it:  “The ADD-Autism NT CD has sold over 500 copies and, to date, only four have been returned under the guarantee. Used with the Integrated 4 Part Therapy, it is a ‘do at home’ complete inexpensive therapy for the ADD/ADHD to Autism spectrum. Like Neurofeedback, it raises the SMR brain wave, lowers Theta brain wave and increases brain blood flow. Because lowering Theta does decrease high creative or artistic ability, some parents prefer the newer Special NT, which does not affect Theta. With nearly 200 Special NT CD’s sold, only one has been returned for refund.”

Now, I realize that is very flimsy support for this technology — anecdotal testimonial from the seller — but Hey! It is at least remotely possible that it might work.  🙂

One thought on “Background to my interest in teaching children with autism

  1. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I’ve
    truly enjoyed browsing your blog posts. After all I will be subscribing to your
    rss feed and I hope you write again soon!

Leave a comment